Who Is The Longest Tenured College Basketball Coach?

Jim Boeheim is college basketball's longest tenured head coach.

Head coaching turnover is at an all-time high in college athletics. College basketball is no exception. Only about a 1/3 of Division I college basketball programs have had their head coach in place for more than 5 years. The top 3 longest tenured head coaches in college basketball changed at the end of last season with the retirement of Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski.

We have the top 10 (plus 1) longest tenured college basketball coaches:

Top 10 Longest Tenured College Basketball Coaches

Jim Boeheim, Syracuse 1976-77
Greg Kampe, Oakland 1984-85
Ron Cottrell, Houston Baptist 1991-92
Tom Izzo, Michigan State 1995-96
Mark Few, Gonzaga 1999-2000
James Jones, Yale 1999-2000
Mike Brey, Notre Dame 2000-01
Randy Bennett, Saint Mary’s 2001-02
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State 2002-03
Scott Drew, Baylor 2003-04
Bill Self, Kansas 2003-04

This list will be changing next season with the retirement of Notre Dame head coach, Mike Brey. Leonard Hamilton is the only coach on this list that would be considered on the hot seat.

Leave a Reply