Longest Tenured Head Coaches in College Football

If you are looking for stability you might want to consider a different career path. It currently only requires 8 seasons as head coach to get into the top 20 of longest tenured head coaches. We’ll take a look at the top 10 coaches who have lead their team the longest.

  1. Kirk Ferentz, Iowa – 23 seasons

    He’s at a school that prioritizes stability. His teams are competitive, but he lacks championships.
  2. Kyle Whittingham, Utah – 17 seasons

    He’s turned down bigger schools. It looks like he’ll retire a Ute.
  3. Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State – 17 seasons

    He’s looked elsewhere. Will the mullet remain at his alma mater?
  4. Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee State – 16 seasons

    Not the most recognizable name on the list, but Mr. Steady Eddy with a career record of 101-98
  5. Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern – 16 seasons

    He must really love his alma mater. He’s turned down NFL offers to stay with the Wildcats. He might one day end at the top of the list of longest tenured head coaches.
  6. Troy Calhoun, Air Force – 15 seasons

    There’s a pattern with the long tenured coaches — leading their alma mater.
  7. Nick Saban, Alabama – 15 seasons

    Hey, a list he’s not number #1 on. He’s expected to retire at Alabama, but when?
  8. Ken Niumatalolo, Navy – 14 seasons

    We wouldn’t be surprised to see him finish his coaching career at Hawaii, his alma mater.
  9. Dabo Swinney, Clemson – 14 seasons

    Not many coaches that started as the interim coach last as long as Swinney has at Clemson.
  10. David Shaw, Stanford – 11 seasons

    Most coaches on this list will get to decide on their own when they leave. That might not be the case for Shaw.

Leave a Reply